Review 9 ‘Confess’ Colleen Hoover

Hi guys!

It’s review time – Confess

I think this is the first review I have written when I don’t actually want to give anything away in case you haven’t read it. Seriously, if you love a new adult contemporary romance please read it! Here is a brief (Yes BRIEF) synopsis.

Confess is an upcoming art ‘studio’ owned by Owen Gentry. (I use the term studio loosely, it’s more of an apartment that holds an exhibit once a month where the public can purchase the exhibited art work). The business is aptly named due to the confessions posted through Owen’s door, he uses these secrets for inspiration and each piece of art is based on one a particular confession.

Auburn Reed is struggling through life after losing almost everything but she has a plan to get her life back on track and to get the things she has lost back. Stumbling upon Confess at Owen’s time of need he offers her a job to assist him during his show for a couple of hours. With nothing to lose and $200 in her pocket at the end of the night Auburn agrees to be his helper.

Throw in some instant attraction and addictive chemistry and we have the beginnings of the perfect relationship.  When obstacles are thrown at both Auburn and Owen, and secrets can no longer be kept we follow their journey as they overcome the challenges.

It’s passionate, addictive, heart-breaking and enthralling.

I loved this book! I love Colleen Hoover and this book does not disappoint. There is something about her writing that I just obsess over.

After reading the first few pages I was on the verge of tears and I knew I had fallen hook line and sinker for the story and the characters.  I was a goner and I just couldn’t put It down. It is safe to say I finished this book in several hours. Yes, some people might say it is too fast paced but sometimes you need a dose of insta-love and honestly even if it is fast paced there’s no lack of drama.  It’s cleverly written and you are taken on an emotional roller-coaster from the very beginning to the end.

Auburn and Owen are perfect for each other.  I was rooting for Auburn to get everything she wanted from the very beginning. She has gone through too much for any twenty one year old and her determination to get her life back on track is admirable. Owen. Oh I love Owen, even with all of his secrets. He puts everyone he loves before himself and he is so dreamy. Their relationship is perfect, you can feel the connection between the two of them from their first meeting and it is great to bare witness to their relationship from the very start.

The secrets that a revealed throughout this book drive you bonkers but they keep you enthralled in the story and you cannot put it down. Hoover has a great ability of releasing the perfect dosage of secrets at the ideal time. This keeps you hooked throughout the story. Both Auburn and Owen have experienced loss in the most tragic way and this definitely brings them closer. They have a connection that cannot be interrupted and this connection is strengthened as the story comes to an end. Everything just makes sense!

The confessions concept is great. I love it. It’s imaginative, unique and memorable. Strangers post a confession and it is turned into art work. Could you imagine the stories you could write from something like this? If this is a real thing and it happens somewhere in the world please tell me where. Not that I have much to confess but it’s equally as cool as the locks chained onto the fences in Amsterdam and Rome.

I really do love this story and I have been wondering since I finished it why it has taken me so damn long to read it.

Rating:

4 stars

Memorable Quote:

Please don’t allow anyone to make you feel less than what you are.

3 thoughts on “Review 9 ‘Confess’ Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

