I dare you book tag

I found this on sydneysshelves blog and had to give it a go. 

RULES:
You must be honest
You must answer all the questions. You must tag 4 people. 
1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

I remember buying Northanger Abbey when I was around 15 years old and that book is definitely on my shelf.  I left most of my childhood books at my mums when I moved to university and she gave a lot of them away after I moved to Sunderland perminantly. I believe Northanger Abbey might be the book that has been on my shelf the longest. 

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

My current read is Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo and I’m really struggling to get into it. My last read was Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas and my next read will be Kings Cage by Victoria Aveyard. 

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

At the moment I’m really struggling with Six of Crows. I’m only a couple of chapters in and I’m determined to continue on for a while longer. I just hope it can grab my attention. 

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t? 

I keep telling myself that I will read Gone with the Wind by Margeret Mitchell but I’ve seen the film so many times I don’t think I could make it through the book without comparing and I love the film too much! 

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

I’m not one for saving books. If I want to read it I will read it. 

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?

Wait until the end. I think I did this once and I have never forgiven myself. 

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

Definitely not a waste of paper and ink. I can understand why people write them. I wrote one myself in my masters dissertation. I just don’t read them as often as I probably should. 

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

I don’t think I could ever have one definitive answer for this question, my mind changes all the time. However, I wouldn’t mind switching places with Claire Randall at this moment in time. Hello Jamie Fraser. (Outlander) 

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time person?) 

The Twilight series reminds me of college. Michael Morpurgo’s Friend or Foe reminds me of my year 5 teacher Mrs Burton, I reread it a few months ago and I was reminiscing about primary school.  Bronte’s Wuthering Heights reminds me of undergrad and dissertation library sessions. This list could go on and on. 

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

I really don’t have an answer for this one. How boring am I? 

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

My mum gave all my children’s books away. I was so angry with her but then she told me where they had gone and I was a little more forgiving. I’ve never really given my books away to anyone. I’ve recommended and I’ve let my friends borrow books but that’s about it. 

12. Which book has been with you most places?

My Tess of the D’urbervilles book by Thomas Hardy and Bronte’s Jane Eyre have both been to every single house I have lived in since I left home in 2010. I’ve lived in 6 places, soon to be 7. I’m not going to lie, with my kindle and nook I don’t tend to take books away with me. I prefer to use my suitcase space for shoes when I go on holiday! I’ve probably read into this question wrong but there is no other way for me to answer it. 

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later? 

Shelley’s Frankenstein!  I remember having to write about it in year 11 for my GCSE’s. I ended up writing my masters dissertation on it years later. 

14. Used or brand new?

Both, used books help out on the money front. I get to buy more books if they are used as they’re cheaper.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Nope and I don’t think I will either. 

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

The Notebook by Nicolas Spark. 

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?

I have an Asian cuisine cook book on my shelf that gets me every time. Sadly, the boyf isn’t a fan and he prefers Italian food. I don’t think I’ve used it since we moved in together which was years ago! 

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

My mum! She doesn’t read often, it tends to be when someone recommends something to her but if she enjoys it it’s got to be good. It just sucks because most of the time what she reads just isn’t for me. I hate crime, horror and thriller books! 

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving? 

Ooo urm I’m not sure. I recently watched Testament of Youth – a true story based on a young woman’s life during the First World War. I tend to stay away from novels based on true events but I bought the book and it is currently on my tbr pile. I really wanted to give it a go. Fingers crossed I will enjoy it! 

Leave a Reply

