Review 3 – ‘Illuminae’ Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Hi guys,

Review time – Illuminae, Amie Kaufman and  Jay Kristoff

 

Spoiler alert!

 

It’s 2575 and a war between two rivals has taken an intense turn and dramatically changed the lives of many. One particular person it has affected is Kady. Kady is an average student, she has big dreams and has experienced her first heart break after recently breaking up her with boyfriend Ezra.  When Kady finds herself in the centre of the war we follow her and Ezra’s journey as they overcome their differences to evade contracting a deadly plague and courageously fight for survival.

Warning number one: This will be a short review.
Warning number two: Many of you may not agree with my opinions.

When I started this book I knew it was going to be like marmite. Either I was going to fall in love with every aspect of it or I was going to absolutely hate it. Now, when it comes to marmite I love the stuff, nothing beats a slice of toast with marmite on for breakfast. Sadly, when it gets to Illuminae I’m not of a fan.

When I first received the book I thought there was so much potential. The synopsis sounded appealing and the unique format of the story instantly made the anticipation of reading this book even more exciting. I just couldn’t wait to get tucked into it.

The story is told through an assortment of diary entries, repots, interviews and instant messages. Before I began I felt like I was in for a real treat. It was something new for me to experience and I couldn’t wait to get enthralled into a new world. Unfortunately the copious amounts of writing formats used to create this story made it too difficult for me to connect to both the story and the characters.

Moreover, I have always loved a story with duel narration. A story is always enthralling when you can see the story unfold from more than one perceptive. However, there were definitely too many narratives to follow. I got ridiculously irritated and bored with all of the changing and chopping of different percpectives. This also made it extremely difficult to connect to the story.

There were several instances where I found myself skipping over certain chapters (if you can call them that) to hurry the reading along. This then resulted in me having no idea what was happening and losing my way through the story. I found myself wanting to give in and start a new book on a number of occasions.

Several people had suggested listening to the audio book instead of reading this book before I started reading it. Now I might be a strange individual but I have always been sceptical about listening to an audio book. I love reading for myself too much. Towards the end of the book I found myself wishing I had taken notice of everyone’s suggestions. With this particular book I can definitley see it being a completely different experience.

At this moment in time I can’t see myself reading the second instalment in the series. I do have it on my bookshelf in case I change my mind in the upcoming months. If that does happen maybe l can  finally experience my first audio book.

Memorable quote: No quote! I tried, I really did. I just couldn’t find one that stuck out to me.

I give this book 2 stars.
I have to award it something for the unique format it’s very clever and fun but overall it’s just not for me.

 

Lucy xx

Leave a Reply

